Everyone Needs a Little Space

Leave Me Alone! by Vera Brosgol is a new September release from Roaring Book Press.

Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 7.14.23 AM.png

Leave Me Alone! is an “epic tale about one grandmother, a giant sack of yarn, and her ultimate quest to finish her knitting.

One day, a grandmother shouts, “LEAVE ME ALONE ” and leaves her tiny home and her very big family to journey to the moon and beyond to find peace and quiet to finish her knitting. Along the way, she encounters ravenous bears, obnoxious goats, and even hordes of aliens But nothing stops grandma from accomplishing her goal knitting sweaters for her many grandchildren to keep them warm and toasty for the coming winter.

This slyly clever and unexpectedly funny modern folktale by Vera Brosgol is perfect for fans of Extra Yarn and is certain to warm even the coldest of hearts.

The author/illustrator, Vera Brosgol, was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel, Anya’s Ghost, was published in 2011 by First Second. She drew storyboards for the animated films Coraline, ParaNorman, and The Boxtrolls. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and at last count has knit twenty-two sweaters.” (More from Indie Bound)
*
Great Reviews!

“Brosgol’s folkloric tale is full of humor and repetition, making it a good choice to read aloud . . . Understatedly funny, just like the Eastern European folk tales on whose shoulders it stands.” —Kirkus Reviews

The fizzy collision of old-fashioned fairy tale elements with space-age physics is delightful, and even the most extroverted readers will recognize that sometimes you just need a little space.” — Publisher’s Weekly starred review

*

Visit Vera Brosgol’s website here.
Twitter: @verabee
___________
Fun fashion illustrations from Vera Brosgol can be found here.
Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 7.12.06 AM.png
Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 7.12.17 AM.png
_______